State lawmakers have scheduled a series of town halls to begin the public discussion about tax reform in Utah.

Eight town halls will be held, beginning in Brigham City at Utah State University a week from today.

Other town halls will be held this month in Salt Lake County, Richfield,

St. George, and next month in Davis County, Roosevelt, Moab and Utah County.

Lawmakers are holding the town halls after their attempt to reform the tax code during the last legislative session generated negative feedback from the businesses and the public.

More From KDXU 890 & 92.5